ESMUC Ensemble

07/04 - 19.00h - CONCERT N.14

L'Auditori de Barcelona (Sala 2 Oriol Martorell)

Conductor: Lorenzo Ferrándiz / Artistic Management: Ramón Torramilans


⇨ ESMUC Ensemble

⇨ Sampler Sèries de L'Auditori de Barcelona



Produced by:

PROGRAM: American music

- The place we began (2008) by John Luther Adams (USA)

sound installation

- Eight Lines (1983) de Steve Reich (USA) - 17’30’’

for flutes, clarinet, pianos and strings

- Imaginary Landscape #1 (1939) by John Cage (USA) -6’

For two variable-speed phono turntables, frequency recordings, muted piano and cymbal

- Music in similar Motion (1969) by Philip Glass (USA)- 16’

open score

- Red Arc/Blue Veil (2002) by John Luther Adams (USA) - 12’

for piano, mallet percussion and processed sounds

- Increase (2002) by David Lang (USA) - 12’

for large ensemble


Esmuc Ensemble is part of the long list of large ensembles of the Higher School of Music of Catalonia. It belongs to the Classical and Contemporary Music Department and it was born with the aim of offering its students the opportunity to broaden and deepen their knowledge of both the music of the twentieth century as the music of nowadays. Students work on the language and instrumental techniques with the musical director and with specialist teachers and at the same time they also have a direct contact with the young composers from Esmuc, in a first-hand participation in the entire creation process of the works that they premiered.